Why I hate Windows Mobile 5.

To start the story, Eten M700 is my first device that uses Windows Mobile. I never have anything that uses Windows Mobile before, or do I have any experience with earlier version.
 
With Windows Mobile, I find it annoying to not be able to disable the zhuyin chinese input method from the control panel. It’s Hong Kong here, zhuyin is only use in Taiwan as far as I know, but he Windows Mobile 5 has zhuyin and changjie (full & half) only. There is no phrase input for changjie and you can’t type Hong Kong characters. The most annoying part is that, phrase input is available with handwriting input. The "quick" input is not available, you have to switch to changjie full and put a * in the middle to achieve the same function. Simplified chinese is not available with chanjie but again, it’s available with handwriting input.
 
I only use changjie but I have no way to remove the zhuyin or to be able to set changjie as default input. I search thru the web and find that it can only be remove thru registry edit. Fxxk Microsoft then.
 
Next is with the phone, I cannot add the number into an existing contact when someone dials in with another phone or can I edit before call. This two functions exist in my M68.
I can always choose to edit the number ( for example, add the number 133 before dialing) in M68.
 
Another problem is, for those IVR thingy, you have to listen to the command before pressing any button to know what you need to press to do what you want. However, Windows Mobile seems to have some bug here, if you leave keypad idle for sometime, it would occassionally ignore your  keypad input.
 
What’s next is, the bluetooth would begin file transfer without asking the user. It will ask you whether you want to accept it or not after it complete the file transfer or you could always cancel it in the middle of the way, but I just don’t like it when it start accepting without my permisson.
 
The calendar view is not configurable, I prefer to view the calendar in month or even year, not in the hour mode.
 
And to end this entry, I would tell you the most hateful thing about Windows Mobile that makes me sick of it. Windows Media player doesn’t have a function to switch of the screen while playing music. My Palm has, and my M68 has, SE and Nokia has it too. Even the FM radio software that comes with my Eten M700 has this function but Microsoft seems to be too lazy to implement such a function. My M700 doesn’t have the keylock or screen lock function, and once in awhile, I would accidentally press the button in Windows Media player that causes it to go online. There is no way I could disable GPRS because Windows Mobile is "smart" enough to figure out what connection is available and do an auto-connect when it "thinks" I need an internet connection. This cost me more money for GPRS!!!
Leave a Reply

